January 17, 2016

2016-first

Happy New Year!

I’m a little late, folks, but I’m here. This year my resolutions are much more realistic than they have ever been. I no longer – through Wishful Thinking and sporadic bursts of energy and laziness – wish to be half my size. I think I’ve resigned myself that it’s not going to happen. Instead, I’ve pared down my usual Resolutions to just a handful:

  1. Be KINDER to myself. Stop feeling so guilty about everything because I DON’T have control over everything. Be more mindful of myself. Worry less. Simplify.
  2. Visit one museum a month.
  3. Finish the Dark Tower series.
  4. Be more consistent with keeping the house tidy. Simplify.
  5. Eat. MORE. Vegetables. Eat more oatmeal. Move more.

That’s it. Last year, and the year before (and the year before that), I had 10+ things because I’m a hopeless romantic moonlighting as a mythical superhero who could do everything. Nope. Not realistic. It’s much easier to complete a list of fewer things.

A few links to remind myself (and you) to start the year off right:

10 Ways You’re Making Your Life Harder Than It Has To Be. (No. 7, 8, 9)

10 Qualities of People with High Emotional Intelligence.

Love like you give a shit.

Simplify your life in 2016.

Explore LA a little more.

Daily pep talks for the babe in you.

As a creative person, this was an interesting read about how to deal with over-humility with your work.

Plus, an interiors/decor blog, baking, and  fashion blog to add to my blogroll.

And finally, as you know, I had to teach myself to be more self-disciplined regarding baking cookies. Baking cookies was my Everest. I think I’ve got it down now, but this is the year I perfect it without all the nervousness. A few sites helped to educate me: The Science of the Chocolate Chip Cookie, and learning about the different types of flours.

In keeping with trying to not have lofty expectations for everything in my life, but maintaining positive energy, I wish to be more productive this year and be proud of it. Also, I wish that musically and cinematically, 2016 will be a better year. Sorry, 2015, compared to 2014, your music did not blow me away. I need another Lost in the Dream from the War on Drugs to rock my socks!!!

Okay, stay tuned. I’ll be back. For those of you who get Monday off, have a lovely extended weekend.

Leave a comment