Crab and Avocado Rolls

IMG_1721

il_570xn-439014654_21asMG. I did come back for another post before the end of the year. Quite pleased with myself I am. (I saw Star Wars recently; can you tell?)

I want to share that I have a goal of publishing a cookbook some day. My theme is going to be Clean Out Your Fridge. Or, Don’t Waste Food. Or, How Not to be Bored with Leftovers. Or, Transform Your Leftovers. Or, Meal Planning for Two Whilst Faking Gourmet. I don’t know yet. These are all in the same vein though, right?

Remember yesterday’s post on Crab and Quail Curry? Well, since I cook for a mainly two person household, I sometimes have leftovers or an excess of ingredients. Both Yobo and I not-so-secretly secretly dislike eating the same thing the next day. And sometimes I have a nasty habit of shoving things to the back the fridge and the next thing I know, I will find a moldy version of it a few weeks later. I really hate that because I feel really guilty for being wasteful. I’m trying to make my environmental footprint smaller.

Through Meal Planning, I made the curry, and I saved half of the crab meat tin to make an entirely different dish the next day. Instant Fake Gourmet!

CRAB AND AVOCADO SANDWICHES

  • 1/2lb crab meat (or 2 tins)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon Old Bay Seasoning
  • knob of butter
  • brioche rolls (or whatever kind of bread you want)
  • microgreens (I used onion sprouts)
  • 1 avocado, cubed
  • 1 tablespoon of lemon juice or a really squeeze of 1/3 of a fresh lemon
  • 3 tablespoons mayonnaise (Kewpie all the way, but you can use whatever brand you’d like)
  • 1/2 teaspoon onion powder (not pictured)
  • salt and pepper to taste

Butter and lightly toast your bread. Cube your avocado.

In a bowl, mix crab meat, s&p, lemon juice, Old Bay, onion powder, and mayo. Add avocado, mix lightly.

Stuff your bread with the crab and avocado mixture. Garnish with greens or sprouts.

Enjoy and/or inhale.

 

IMG_1707IMG_1710IMG_171112-13-2015-CRABSAMMIESIMG_1717

 

 

Leave a Reply

