Forbidden Gluten Free Banana Bread Loaves

11-27-15.8

11-27-15.1

il_570xn-439014654_21asnce upon a time, I used to be able to eat bananas. That’s it. That’s the story. Sometime a few months back, I suddenly couldn’t eat them anymore. WTF. As an island girl who loves bananas, I find this an affront to my culinary sensibilities. It started with a smoothie containing organic bananas. Within a few minutes, some hard bumps appeared on the side of my tongue. My mouth became slightly itchy. This bumps were very painful. It lasted almost 2 hours.

When I got to my parents’ house a week later, I ate some banana chips. My mouth became itchy again. The following recipe was my last hurrah to see if bananas baked into bread would yield the same allergic reaction. I am sad to report that I cannot eat bananas in any form anymore. (Hence the “Forbidden” part of the recipe title.) I’ve heard of temporary allergies lasting just a few months (a friend had something similar happen to him with avocado), so I’m going to test the Fates again in a few months.

Side note: I made these gluten-free banana bread loaves to a) get rid of old mini loaf liners I had around, b) get rid of extra almond flour that was about to expire, c) get rid of a bunch of overripe bananas. I planned to give them to Yobo to take to work for his co-workers since I could not eat them. He had actually forgotten that there was a potluck for lunch, so he strolled in and realized that I’d baked these just in time! Life is funny like that. What’s not funny is being allergic to bananas. Boo.

Anyway, here’s the basic recipe I followed, but I replaced the yogurt with kefir (another thing nearing an expiration date that needs to be consumed). I also sprinkled the top of each loaf with leftover pie crust and it produced a nice and nutty texture. I did steal a teensy slice because the bread smelled amazing. It was worth the itchiness…sort of.

11-27-15.211-27-15.311-27-15-vert11-27-15.611-27-15.7

Leave a Reply

