Fish en Papillote

11-18-15.611-18-15.2

il_570xn-439014654_21asnce upon a time, I had a college roommate who is now one of my dearest friends. At the time, she was the pickiest eater I had ever met. She would tell people she was allergic to fish and seafood (she was not). She was not a fan of it in any form. Post-college, she and her now-husband ate sushi for the first time. Took a few tries, but she came to tolerate it. Me, on the hand, if I had fresh and top quality seafood at my disposal, I would eschew red meat and reduce my red meat consumption to (maybe) once a month. That says a lot about how much I love fish and seafood. Some people balk at the fish aisle and markets, I love the heady fishy smell. As my husband will attest, one of my guilty pleasures is sucking down some shrimp brains. Whatever. To each his/her own. Don’t judge.

In trying to eat healthier, here is what’s for dinner. Fish baked in parchment paper. I don’t have an exact recipe, but this is the way my grandmother cooked it (minus the bay leaf). I cook with my eyes and hands. But if you really need one…

  • 1 headless fish (I’m using red snapper)
  • 1 tomato or a bunch of cherry tomatoes (or however much tomato you can stuff into a fish)
  • 2 cloves garlic (finely minced)
  • thinly sliced onion
  • bay leaf
  • 3 tablespoons of white wine
  • salt and pepper
  • EVOO
  • PARCHMENT PAPER

Pre-heat oven to 375F. Put all stuffing ingredients in a bowl; mix to combine. Stuff fish. I used toothpicks to secure the fish with the stuffing. Measure out your parchment paper and place fish in center. Drizzle EVOO. Fold down sides of paper first. Fold top horizontally and sharply until you’ve creased all the way to where it meets the fish. Put on baking sheet. Bake for 25 minutes. Your house will smell yummy and fishy.

11-18-15.111-18-15.411-18-15.511-18-15.3

Leave a Reply

