brown rice cakes with pork and scallions

savory brown rice cakes

I made a white rice version at Yobo’s place a week prior to making these, and they were super delicious, but… I didn’t have my camera with me. When I was finally food blog ready, I didn’t have any white rice with me, so I used brown rice instead. It was definitely a challenge to make these rice patties into actual fry-able cakes, because brown rice is not glutinous the way white rice is. But I made it work! And they are just as tasty, if not healthier for you!

The best thing about this recipe is that you don’t HAVE to use pork, and you don’t HAVE to use any of these ingredients (except for the rice). And, if you didn’t feel like making these into fried rice ball cakes, you could just fry them all together and have fried rice. Just tweak to your desires.

I used:

  • 3 cups of brown rice
  • 1 cup of green onion, chopped
  • 1 cup of chopped pork (I used pork shoulder)
  • 1/2 vegetable oil, for frying
  • 2 tablespoons of oil, for frying your meat and veggies
  • 1/3 cup of chopped shiitake mushrooms
  • 1/3 cup of shredded carrot
  • 3 tablespoons of garlic (bec i heart gahlick)
  • drizzles of soy sauce (eyeball it)
  • 1/2 cup of parmesan cheese
  • 2 eggs
  • salt & pepper, to taste

Fry the pork with a little oil, salt, and pepper. You can fry this as done as you want. I like my meat to have a little bit of crust.

Add your soy sauce, mushrooms, garlic, carrots, and green onion. Stir fry until fragrant at medium heat.

Remove from heat. Add rice and stir fry in a large bowl and mix thoroughly.

Add the parmesan cheese (you could use finely shreddedΒ mozzarellaΒ too, but make sure it’s a binding type of cheese, so no ricotta!)

Add the egg, and mix well. (I forgot to take a picture, sorry!)

Have a bowl of cornstarch ready. Use your hands to make appropriate sized balls of the rice mess you made and gently coat with the cornstarch.

Heat a pan with the remaining oil at medium high heat (or higher if you’re not using a nonstick) , and fry your rice ball cakes until they are crispy on both sides.

LET’S EAT!

Leave a Reply

